Tunnel Management Building, Dunkettle, Co. Cork
Wave Wave

The Jack Lynch Tunnel

The Jack Lynch Tunnel is an immersed tube tunnel and an integral part of the N40 southern ring road of Cork. The Tunnel is named after former Taoiseach, Jack Lynch, a native of Cork.

It takes the road under the River Lee. North of the Tunnel, the ring-road joins the M8 motorway to Dublin (north) and N8 road to the city centre (west), with the N25 commencing east to Waterford.

There are six emergency exits in each traffic bore for pedestrians that lead into the central bore (pedestrian exit), the exit doors are at each end of the central bore.

Next Tunnel Closures

Mon 20th Sep, 21:00 - Tue 21st Sep, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Tues 21st Sep, 21:00 - Wed 22nd Sep, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Wed 22nd Sep, 21:00 - Thur 23rd Sep, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Thurs 23rd Sep, 21:00 - Fri 24th Sep, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Mon 11th Oct, 21:00 - Tues 12th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Tue 12th Oct, 21:00 - Wed 13th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Wed 13th Oct, 21:00 - Thur 14th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Thur 14th Oct, 21:00 - Fri 15th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Thur 14th Oct, 21:00 - Fri 15th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Tue 19th Oct, 21:00 - Wed 20th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Wed 20th Oct, 21:00 - Thur 21th Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Thur 21st Oct, 21:00 - Fri 22nd Oct, 04:00 - Full Tunnel Closure

Traffic Cameras, Closures & Safety Information

View safety information, live traffic feeds and scheduled maintenance.

View Cameras

View live traffic feed and information from the Jack Lynch Tunnel Traffic Camera Feeds section
Traffic Cameras

Closures Information

View the latest information on all upcoming Scheduled Maintenance Closures for the Jack Lynch Tunnel
Tunnel Closures

Safety Information

Safety information, before entering the tunnel, accident and emergency and vehicle fire information
Safety Information
Frequently Asked Questions
What do I do if I breakdown?
There are a number of SOS phones located at 50 meter intervals through Jack Lynch Tunnel. These phones provide a direct link to our Tunnel Control Room which will provide assistance.
What is the height of Jack Lynch Tunnel?
The maximum height of Jack Lynch Tunnel is 4.65 meters.
Are pedestrians and cyclists permitted in Jack Lynch Tunnel?
No, pedestrians and cyclists are strictly not permitted in Jack Lynch Tunnel.
What is the speed limit through Jack Lynch Tunnel?
The speed limit is 80kph through Jack Lynch Tunnel.
TII Twitter Feed